The Episcopal Church

Saint Matthew's is part of the Episcopal Diocese of Upper South Carolina. Our diocese comprises some 27,000 Christians spread out over 62 congregations located in the Upstate and Mildands of South Carolina. The Rt. Rev. W. Andrew Waldo is our bishop and provides pastoral oversight for all of the congregations.  For information about the Diocese of Upper South Carolina see

We are also a part of The Episcopal Church which is the national organization we belong to. The Episcopal Church is comprised of 109 dioceses spread out the United States, 3 regions, and 15 other nations. The Episcopal Church is dedicated to spreading the Good News of God in Jesus Christ and our official name is even the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America. For information about the national Episcopal Church see

The Episcopal Church is a part of the  85 million member worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Communion ties us to other Christians around the world who have a shared sense of heritage and mission. The Most Rev. Justin Welby is the Archbishop of Canterbury and is head of the Anglican Communion.  For more information about the Anglican Communion see